AI rack power by GPU generation
Living index of rack-scale power requirements across NVIDIA + AMD + adjacent AI accelerator generations. Categorical cooling requirement, 800V DC ecosystem readiness, integrator + power partners, per-row primary source. Quarterly cadence.
01Rack power comparison table
| Accelerator generation | TDP per GPU | Rack config | Rack power | Cooling requirement | 800V DC readiness | Integrator + power partners | Primary source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NVIDIA H100 (Hopper) Shipped 2022 | 700W SXM5 | 8-GPU HGX / 4-GPU/8-GPU DGX | 30-60 kW typical (HGX H100 8-GPU) / 10 kW (DGX H100 single node) | Air (up to ~40 kW/rack); DLC required above | Ships in AC-powered racks; 800V DC racks introduced by ecosystem partners 2025+ | Foxconn, Wiwynn, Supermicro, Dell, HPE, Lenovo (multiple integrators) | NVIDIA H100 product page |
| NVIDIA H200 (Hopper refresh) Shipped 2024 | 700W SXM5 (same as H100) | 8-GPU HGX | 30-60 kW typical (HGX H200 8-GPU) | Air-capable; DLC preferred at 8-GPU HGX density | Ships in AC-powered racks; 800V DC via ecosystem partners | Same integrator ecosystem as H100 | NVIDIA H200 product page |
| NVIDIA B100 / B200 (Blackwell) Shipped 2024-2025 | 700W (B100) / 1000W (B200 dense) | 8-GPU HGX / MGX modular | 60-120 kW (HGX B200 8-GPU) | Liquid cooling standard (DLC or immersion); air-cooled variants limited | Ecosystem transitioning to 800V DC rack designs for Blackwell density | Foxconn, Wiwynn, Quanta, Supermicro, Dell, Delta Electronics (integrators + power) | NVIDIA HGX platform |
| NVIDIA GB200 NVL72 (Grace Blackwell) Shipped 2025 | 2700W per GB200 superchip (2×B200 + Grace CPU) | 72-GPU NVL72 (full rack), 36-GPU NVL36 (subset) | 120 kW per NVL72 rack (public NVIDIA guidance) | Liquid cooling required (DLC); air-cooled not a supported configuration | NVIDIA reference design assumes 800V DC facility feed; OCP Mt Diablo rack fits | Foxconn, Wiwynn, Quanta, Delta (800V DC power shelf), Flex (800V DC rack), CoolIT (thermal) | NVIDIA GB200 NVL72 + 800V DC ecosystem blog |
| NVIDIA Vera Rubin (announced) Shipped 2026-2027 target | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed (successor to GB200 architecture) | Estimated 500-600 kW per rack based on public commentary; not officially disclosed | Liquid cooling required; NVIDIA guidance emphasises 800V DC + advanced cooling | 800V DC facility feed assumed; 1500V DC discussion emerging | Same partner ecosystem as GB200; specific product roadmaps not publicly disclosed | NVIDIA 800V HVDC architecture blog |
| AMD MI300X Shipped 2023 | 750W per GPU | 8-GPU OAM Universal Baseboard | 30-60 kW typical (8-GPU UBB) | Air-capable; DLC preferred at 8-GPU density | AC-powered racks primary; 800V DC via ecosystem partners | Supermicro, Dell, HPE, Lenovo (multiple integrators) | AMD MI300X product page |
| AMD MI325X Shipped 2024 | 1000W per GPU | 8-GPU OAM UBB | 60-90 kW typical (8-GPU UBB) | DLC standard at 1000W density | AC-powered primary; 800V DC via ecosystem partners | Same integrator ecosystem as MI300X | AMD MI325X product page |
| AMD MI350 series (announced) Shipped 2025 | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | DLC + advanced cooling expected | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | AMD Instinct product line |
| Google TPU v5 Shipped 2023 | Not publicly disclosed (Google internal) | Google internal pod architecture | Not publicly disclosed (Google internal) | Liquid cooling (Google DC standard) | Google internal DC architecture; not publicly detailed for TPU | Google internal + ODM partners (Quanta et al) | Google Cloud TPU |
| Cerebras WSE-3 Shipped 2024 | ~23 kW per wafer-scale engine | CS-3 system (1 WSE-3 per system chassis) | ~23 kW per CS-3 system | Liquid cooling required (integrated Cerebras thermal) | Standard AC input; not part of 800V DC ecosystem | Cerebras direct; system-level integration | Cerebras CS-3 system page |
| Groq LPU Shipped 2024 | Not publicly disclosed | GroqRack (server-scale) | Not publicly disclosed | Air-cooled variant available; liquid options | Standard AC input; not part of 800V DC ecosystem | Groq direct + system integrators | Groq product page |
02What this tracks
What this map ISN'T
Not a benchmark. Not a performance comparison. Not investment advice.
Not exhaustive of all AI accelerators (Cerebras + Groq included as representative non-NVIDIA/non-AMD points; other silicon vendors deferred to next revision). Not a substitute for direct vendor engagement or published product datasheets. Cooling + 800V DC readiness columns reflect ECOSYSTEM CONFIGURATION rather than accelerator-inherent limits.
03Method + sourcing
- Coverage. Includes accelerators with public product-page presence + verified generation. Each row cites a canonical vendor source.
- TDP. Per-GPU thermal design power as publicly disclosed by the vendor. Blank or "not publicly disclosed" where vendor has not released.
- Rack power. Reflects typical rack configurations (e.g. HGX 8-GPU, NVL72 full-rack). Range spans lower-density variants + higher-density configs.
- Cooling requirement. Categorical: air-capable, DLC preferred, DLC required, liquid required. Reflects ecosystem-standard configurations, not necessarily accelerator-inherent thermal limits.
- 800V DC readiness. Whether the accelerator generation ships in racks that assume 800V DC facility feed, OR is designed for AC-input via traditional PDUs. Ecosystem partners (Delta, Flex, CoolIT) determine actual deployment configurations more than the accelerator vendor.
- Update cadence. Quarterly. Between-cycle updates when NVIDIA/AMD publish new accelerator generations or significant ecosystem announcements.
04Change log
| Date | Version | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-08-21 | v1.0 | Initial public release. |